## Major legislation leading to the growth of New York's Craft brewing industry includes:

- **Beer Franchise Law:** In 2012 Governor Cuomo singed legislation allowing small brewers the ability to terminate their relationship with a wholesaler. Now under New York's franchise law, small brewers are no longer locked into wholesale relationships that are not working, as brewers may pay fair market value to terminate a wholesale contract, rather than engaging in lengthy and expensive lawsuits.
- **Creating the Farm Brewery License:** The Governor's farm brewery law went into effect on January 1, 2013, allowing craft brewers that use products grown in New York to operate similarly to farm wineries. The legislation allows farm brewers to open restaurants, conduct tastings of all farm produced beverages, and allows them to open five no-fee, off-site branch stores anywhere in the state.
  - The legislation also protected a tax benefit for small brewers, with any brewery producing 60 million or fewer gallons of beer eligible for a refundable tax credit.
  - The law also exempts breweries that produce brands of 1,500 barrels or less annually from the SLA's \$150 annual brand label fee, saving small brewers more than \$2 million since the law went into effect on January 1, 2013.
- The Governor's 2014 Craft Act: This legislation allows micro and farm breweries the ability to sell beer they produce and any beer produced by a farm brewery by the glass at their manufacturing facility. This change led to a proliferation of tap rooms across the state, where brewers see their greatest profit margin, build their brands and market their products. The Craft Act also increased the annual production cap for micro and farm breweries from 60,000 to 75,000 barrels annually.
- **Microbrewery Tax Filing Legislation:** This 2015 legislation exempts microbreweries from redundant tax reporting requirements that placed heavy paperwork burdens on small businesses not equipped to handle the data collection.
- **Modernizing the ABC Law:** On September 13, 2016 Governor Cuomo signed legislation to modernize the state's Alcoholic Beverage Control laws and strengthen the craft beverage industry, including:
  - Expanding Sunday sales: rolling back the statewide hours for on-premises consumption from 10 a.m. to 8 a.m.
  - Eliminating Paperwork and Fees for Craft Manufacturers: While actions following the 2012 Wine, Beer and Spirits Summit ended the SLA's prohibition of holding multiple manufacturing at one location, these businesses were still required to file paperwork and renewals for each separate license. The legislation created a combined craft manufacturing license and eliminated multiple filing fees for these small businesses. Today, 37 craft manufacturers hold a combined manufacturing license.
  - Reduce Fees for Craft Beverage Salespeople: The law eliminated the fee for a solicitor's permit for salespersons working for craft manufacturers.

- Expanded Sales by the Glass: On September 13, 2016, Governor Cuomo singed a law allowing farm breweries, wineries and cideries to sell any New York-made farm alcoholic beverage by the glass at their production facility or off-site branch store. Under previous law, farm manufacturers are limited to selling only products by the glass they produced on site. A similar law in 2017 extended these privileges to farm distilleries.
- **2016 New York City Excise Tax Relief:** Provided a tax credit for beer manufactured in New York City.

## Following New York's Wine, Beer, Cider and Spirits Summits in 2012, 2014 and 2015, Governor Cuomo implemented a host of brewer friendly reforms including:

- Ending prohibition against holding more than one license at the same location: Under prior regulations, manufacturers holding multiple licenses were required to have separate premises. Today, 51 small breweries in New York hold both farm and microbrewery licenses. In addition, 6 breweries also hold distillery licenses, while 11 also hold a winery license.
- Allowing craft manufacturers to sell bottles when they are conducting tastings: Under prior regulations, while brewers could conduct tastings at offsite events such as street fairs and charity events, they could not sell their products to customers to go. Following the Summit, the Governor directed the SLA to allow producers to sell "by the bottle" at events where they can conduct tastings.
- Reducing fee for manufacturers' marketing permits: At the Governor's direction, SLA reduced the fee for its three-year manufacturers' marketing license in half from \$250 to \$125 per year. Marketing permits allow manufacturers to conduct offsite tastings and sales at a variety of locations.
- Reducing license application requirements: At the Governor's direction, SLA waived the submission of certain documents not pertinent to a manufacturer's application.
- Creating the "one-stop shop" within Empire State Development to provide the craft industry with a single point of contact.
- Simplified the brand label registration process to eliminate paperwork for manufacturers.
- Authorized the sale of beer in refillable growlers.
- Governor Cuomo announced an investment of \$5 million to renew the marketing and promotional commitment first launched in 2014, with the State committing \$2 million in direct spending to support the industry's growth via \$1 million in tourism promotion and a \$1 million targeted advertising campaign.
- ESD launched a \$3 million grant program that matches 20 percent of the industry's contributions for the marketing and promotion of wine, beer, spirits and cider produced in New York State.

• Provide guidance to explicitly authorizes contract brewing, allowing small breweries to use the facilities of a larger producer to manufacturer beer.