August 16, 2012
Albany, NY

Governor Cuomo Reduces Size of Government by Signing Bills to Eliminate More Than 120 Inactive Local Authorities and Agencies

TOP Governor Cuomo Reduces Size of Government by...

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today signed two bills that will eliminate 28 local public authorities and 95 urban renewal and industrial development agencies that are inactive or no longer needed.


"Since taking office, my administration has worked to make government more efficient and accountable to taxpayers, including doing more with less and finding ways to reduce the costs facing localities," Governor Cuomo said. "Given that these authorities and agencies no longer serve the public interest, it only makes sense to do away with them for good. I thank the bill sponsors for their work on these two bills."


The two bills (A. 10288-A / S.5198-D and A. 8823-A / S. 5227-B) repeal the statutory authorization for approximately 95 urban renewal and industrial agencies and 28 local public authorities that are either defunct, were never ultimately established by local law, or are no longer needed to carry out the public function for which they were formed.


The affected agencies and authorities have no outstanding debt or other obligations. The law transfers the eliminated entities' remaining books, records, and rights to the municipality where each is located.


Both laws take effect in 60 days.


Senator Michael H. Ranzenhofer, sponsor of S.5198-D, said, "This is another victory for New York State taxpayers. For years many of these authorities have been defunct and not serving the residents of New York State. This law is an important step toward simplifying State government and eliminating wasteful and duplicative state agencies. I appreciate the Governors swift action to sign this bill into law."


Senator Jack M. Martins, sponsor of S. 5227-B, said, "During these difficult economic times, as we seek accountability from all levels of government, it makes sense to eliminate layers of government that are no longer necessary and consolidate their responsibilities in our counties, towns, and villages. I want to thank the Governor for his continued leadership in partnering with us to right-size government."


Assembly Member Jim Brennan, sponsor of A. 10288-A, said, "This bill was a joint effort between the Governor, the Authorities Budget Office, the Comptroller, members of the Legislature, and local governments to carefully extinguish dozens of defunct public authorities. It also ensures that any remaining responsibilities are returned to local government. I appreciate the Governors continued leadership in streamlining state government."


Assembly Member William Magnarelli, sponsor of A. 8823-A, said, "As Chair of the Assembly's Local Government Committee, one of our priorities has been to dissolve IDA's and other authorities that are no longer legally functioning. I support Governor Cuomo's efforts to streamline New York State's government agencies to foster better efficiency and effectiveness. This bill accomplishes the first step in eliminating inactive public authorities. In addition, this bill would advance the State's effort to maintain an accurate inventory of agencies, and abolish unnecessary sectors of local government."


The agencies and authorities eliminated by the laws signed today include:


Sloatsburg Urban Renewal AgencyBeacon Community Develop AgencyNorwich Urban Renewal AgencyNyack Urban Renewal AgencyPeekskill Community Development AgencyMount Kisco Urban Renewal AgencyIsland Park Urban Renewal AgencyEllenville Urban Renewal AgencyHornell Urban Renewal AgencyWashingtonville Urban Renewal AgencyMamaroneck Urban Renewal AgencyPlattsburgh Urban Renewal AgencyWoodridge Urban Renewal AgencyPotsdam Urban Renewal AgencyLancaster Urban Renewal AgencyGouverneur Urban Renewal AgencyClayville Urban Renewal AgencyWalden Village and Renewal AgencyIlion Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Penn Yan Renewal AgencyVillage of Pawling Urban Renewal AgencyNewburgh Community Develop AgencyBaldwinsville Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Hamburg Urban RenewalSaranac Lake Urban Renewal AgencyTuckahoe Urban Renewal AgencyPalmyra Urban Renewal AgencyNewark Urban Renewal AgencySalamanca Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of East Rochester Urban Renewal AgencyAuburn Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of New Paltz Renewal AgencyOgdensburg Urban Renewal AgencyLong Beach Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Hilton Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Liberty Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Lyons Urban Renewal AgencyDolgeville Community Development AgencyTown of Wallkill Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Greenport Industrial Development AgencyThomaston Urban Renewal AgencyWatertown Urban Renewal AgencyFallsburg Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Geneseo Urban Renewal AgencyTown of Bethlehem Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Massena Urban Renewal AgencyWatervliet Urban Renewal AgencyNew Rochelle Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Fort Edward Urban Renewal AgencyDunkirk Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Monticello Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of East Syracuse Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Catskill Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of New Hartford Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Hudson Falls Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Webster Urban Renewal AgencyRensselaer Urban Renewal AgencyCity of Cohoes Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Lynbrook Urban Renewal AgencyOswego Urban Renewal AgencyYorktown Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Warwick Urban Renewal AgencyTown of Guilderland Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Whitehall Urban Renewal AgencyTown of Colonie Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Fayetteville Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Waverly Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of North Syracuse Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Fredonia Urban Renewal AgencyVillage of Canajoharie Urban Renewal AgencyTown of Orangetown Community Development AgencyVillage of Greenport Industrial Development AgencyTown of Queensbury Industrial Development AgencyCity of Beacon Industrial Development AgencyTown of East Greenbush Industrial Development AgencyDeerpark Industrial Development AgencyTown of East Hampton Industrial Development AgencyTown of Carmel Industrial Development AgencyTown of Oyster Bay Industrial Development AgencyCity of Watervliet Industrial Development AgencyTown of Schodack Industrial Development AgencyVillage of Horseheads Industrial Development AgencyVillage of Lake Placid Industrial Development AgencyVillage of Keeseville Industrial Development AgencyTown of Horseheads Industrial Development AgencyTown of Dryden Industrial Development AgencyTroy Urban Renewal AgencyCity of Oneida Industrial Development AgencyTown of Liberty Industrial Development AgencyVillage of Monticello Industrial Development AgencyKent Industrial Development AgencyWoodridge Industrial Development AgencyTown of Fallsburg Industrial Development AgencyTown of Southampton Industrial Development AgencyTown of Altamont Industrial Development AgencyAmsterdam Parking Authority Monroe Regional Parking AuthorityJohnson City Parking AuthorityHudson Parking AuthorityElmira Parking AuthorityPeekskill Parking AuthorityFulton Parking AuthorityCity of Troy Parking AuthorityPort Jervis Parking AuthorityUtica Parking AuthorityOwego Parking AuthorityCity of New Rochelle Parking AuthorityCity of Poughkeepsie Parking Authority Village of Spring Valley Parking Authority City of Long Beach Parking Authority City of North Tonawanda Parking Authority Salamanca Hospital District AuthoritySalamanca Indian Lease Authority Long Island Job Development Authority Historic Rome Development Authority Center Authority of Glens Falls Multitown Solid Waste Management Authority Broome County Resource Recovery Agency Brookhaven Resource Recovery AgencyCounty of Essex Solid Waste Management AuthorityGreater Troy Area Solid Waste Management AuthorityCity of Peekskill Civic Center Authority County of Chautauqua Sports, Recreation and Cultural Authority