"Speed Week" Enforcement Campaign runs through June 12
Speeding is a Leading Cause of Fatal Crashes in New York State Each Year
New York State Police to Continue Work Zone Patrol and Target Violations of the 'Move Over Law'
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that the New York State Police will target speeding and aggressive drivers during a special weeklong traffic enforcement initiative. This year's "Speed Week" enforcement crackdown started Thursday, June 6 and runs through Wednesday, June 12. Troopers will also actively patrol highway work zones and will target drivers who violate New York's "Move Over" Law.
"We will not tolerate speeding and reckless driving for a very simple reason: it puts everyone at risk and speeding is the leading cause of fatal crashes each year in New York State," Governor Cuomo said. "We urge all drivers to make safety the top priority, obey speed limits, put down your electronic devices, and move over when you see emergency vehicles and highway workers on the side of the road."
New York State Police Superintendent Keith M. Corlett said, "As summer travel season ramps up, we want drivers to understand that speeding can bring tragic consequences. Our Troopers will be highly visible during this traffic enforcement period and throughout the peak summer driving period, to ensure that drivers are following the posted speed limits and remove reckless drivers from the road."
"I join the Governor in urging all drivers to obey the speed limit and never drive distracted or impaired," said Mark J.F. Schroeder, New York State Department of Motor Vehicles Commissioner, and Chair of the Governor's Traffic Safety Committee. "Speeding is a dangerous and avoidable driving offense that puts everyone on the road at risk. The Governor's Traffic Safety Committee is grateful to our partners in law enforcement who work to protect our roadways both during this campaign and all year long."
Speeding is listed as a contributing factor in nearly one third of all fatal crashes in New York State. According to the Institute for Traffic Safety Management and Research (ITSMR) at the University at Albany, in 2017, 301 people were killed and 18,178 were injured in New York State in speed-related crashes. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for people ages three to 33.
During this "Speed Week" enforcement period, Troopers will be using both marked State Police vehicles and Concealed Identity Traffic Enforcement (CITE) vehicles as part of the operation. The CITE vehicles allow Troopers to more easily identify motorists who are violating laws while driving. These vehicles blend in with everyday traffic but are unmistakable as emergency vehicles once the emergency lighting is activated.
Speeding by all vehicle types, as well as other traffic violations, will be heavily enforced throughout the week in addition to normal year-round enforcement. Troopers will also be watching for other traffic violations, including distracted or impaired drivers, vehicle occupants who are not properly buckled up, and drivers that are violating New York's Move Over law.
During the June 2018 Speed Week campaign, State Troopers issued 24,581 total tickets, including 11,380 for speeding, 673 for distracted driving, and 388 for violations of the Move Over law.
The fines for speeding on 55 mph highways or posted 65 mph zones are as follows:
10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $150
11 to 30 mph over the limit - min $90/max $300
31 mph or more over the limit - min $180/max $600
10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $300
11 to 30 over the limit - min $90 /max $450
31 or more over the limit - min $180/max $750
10 mph or less over the limit - min $45/max $525
11 to 30 over the limit - min $90 /max $675
31 or more over the limit - min $180/max $975
Court Surcharges are as follows:
Town or village courts - $93
Other Courts (city traffic courts, etc.) - $88
Violation Point Structure:
1 to 10 mph over limit = 3 points
11 to 20 mph over limit = 4 points
21 to 30 mph over limit = 6 points
31 to 40 mph over limit = 8 points
More than 40 mph over limit = 11 points (triggers suspension)