February 14, 2019
Albany, NY

Governor Cuomo Announces Property Tax Payment Extension for Municipalities Impacted by Winter Storms

TOP Governor Cuomo Announces Property Tax Payment...

Provides Relief to New Yorkers Whose Property Tax Payments Were Delayed Due to Disruption to Public Transportation and Postal Service Operations


Retroactively Extends Tax Payments Due During or Shortly After Winter Storm in Certain Municipalities Without Interest or Penalties - See Executive Order Here


Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today issued an executive order extending the property tax payment due date in municipalities impacted by recent winter storms. This extension allows residents to pay their taxes without interest or penalty for an additional 21 days past the final date taxes are due. The executive order is in direct response to requests by several municipalities whose property tax due dates fell during or shortly after recent storms, but whose residents were unable to make the payments on time due to the disruption of public transportation, utility service, and postal operations.


"With several recent winter storms impeding the ability of residents across the state to pay their property taxes on time, I am extending the due date for these payments to ensure New Yorkers are not penalized as a result of Mother Nature's unpredictability," Governor Cuomo said. "Dealing with winter weather events is stressful enough, and residents in communities especially hard hit can rest assured they will not be further impacted by these storms."


Senator Patty Ritchie said, "New Yorkers—and especially Central and Northern New Yorkers—are no stranger to winter weather, but they should not be financially penalized for a weather event that was completely out of their control. It is important that we address this issue so area residents do not endure any undue financial stress in the wake of these storms. I thank Governor Cuomo for signing this critical executive order and for bringing peace of mind to taxpayers throughout New York."


The extension was granted to Cayuga, Chautauqua, Jefferson, and St. Lawrence Counties, as well as the following towns within the following Counties:


  • Albany County: the Town of Berne
  • Allegany County: the Towns of Ward and Willing
  • Broome County: the Towns of Union and Vestal
  • Cattaraugus County: the Town of Ellicottville
  • Cayuga County: the Town of Mentz
  • Chautauqua County: the Towns of Sinclairville and Poland
  • Chenango County: the Town of Coventry
  • Clinton County: the Town of Ellenburg
  • Columbia County: the Town of Livingston
  • Delaware County: the Town of Hancock
  • Erie County: the Towns of North Collins and West Seneca
  • Franklin County: the Towns of Bellmont, Duane, and Tupper Lake
  • Fulton County:the Town of Oppenheim
  • Genesee County: the Town of Darien
  • Greene County: the Towns of Catskill and New Baltimore
  • Hamilton County: the Town of Benson
  • Herkimer County: the Town of Danube
  • Jefferson County: the Towns of Cape Vincent, Clayton, Henderson, Leray, Lyme, Orleans, Pamelia, Philadelphia, Watertown, and Wilna
  • Lawrence County: the Town of Colton
  • Lewis County: the Town of Lyonsdale
  • Livingston County: the Towns of Lima and Livonia
  • Madison County: the Town of Nelson
  • Nassau County: the Town of Hempstead
  • Niagara County: the Towns of Hartland, Niagara, and Pendleton
  • Oneida County: the Towns of Forestport and Paris
  • Onondaga County: the Towns of Elbridge and Geddes
  • Orange County: the Town of Crawford
  • Orleans County: the Towns of Barre and Murray
  • Oswego County: the Towns of Orwell and Schroeppel
  • Otsego County: the Town of Otsego
  • Rensselaer County: the Towns of  East Greenbush, Petersburgh, and Sand Lake
  • Rockland County: the Town of Ramapo
  • Saint Lawrence County: the Towns of Dekalb, Piercefield, and Rossie
  • Schoharie County: the Towns of Carlisle, Cobleskill, and Jefferson
  • Steuben County: the Towns of Hartsville and Hornellsville
  • Tompkins County: the Town of Ulysses
  • Ulster County: the Town of New Paltz
  • Westchester County: the Towns of Cortlandt, Greenburgh, North Castle, Rye, and Yorktown
  • Wyoming County: the Towns of Arcade and Covington
Contact the Governor's Press Office
Contact the Governor's Press Office