January 24, 2012
Albany, NY

Governor Cuomo Announces Mandate Relief Council to Meet on Wednesday

TOP Governor Cuomo Announces Mandate Relief Council...

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that the Mandate Relief Council will meet on Wednesday, January 25 in the State Capitol in Albany. The Council was created by the Governor and Legislature to address the skyrocketing costs facing local governments that have contributed to New York State's high property tax rates. Wednesdays meeting will be the first public meeting of the Council, which will also be conducting public hearings across the state.


"For too many years local governments and school districts have been burdened with growing costs, driving up property taxes and cutting into the delivery of vital services," Governor Cuomo said. "My budget already includes billions of dollars of relief to help lower costs for taxpayers and this council will continue to build on that effort to ensure more savings for New Yorkers."


The Mandate Relief Council is an eleven-member Executive and Legislative council charged with reviewing and advancing proposals to reduce the statutory and regulatory burden on local governments and school districts. Governor Cuomo signed the law creating the Mandate Relief Council as part of a mandate relief package that will save local governments and school districts more than $125 million.


The Council's meeting on Wednesday, January 25 will be held at 10:00AM in the Blue Room (Room 250 in the Capitol).


The State depends on its local governments and school districts to deliver essential services to its residents and often prescribes how these services should be provided. These requirements are woven throughout State laws and regulations limiting flexibility and increasing costs. The Council was created to find, review, and reform these mandates. 


Members of the Council include: 


  • Lawrence Schwartz, Chair, Secretary to the Governor
  • Mylan Denerstein, Counsel to the Governor
  • Robert Megna, Director of the Division of the Budget
  • Cesar Perales, Secretary of State
  • David Wakelyn, Deputy Secretary for Education
  • James Introne, Deputy Secretary for Health
  • Kristin Proud, Deputy Secretary for Human Services, Operations, and Technology
  • Senator Elizabeth Little (appointed by the Temporary President of the Senate)
  • Senator Jack Martins (appointed by the Temporary President of the Senate)
  • Assemblyman Carl Heastie (appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly)
  • Assemblyman William Magnarelli (appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly)