November 12, 2012
Albany, NY

Governor Cuomo Announces Four More Counties Affected by Hurricane Sandy Eligible for Federal Individual Assistance Aid

TOP Governor Cuomo Announces Four More Counties...

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that four more counties have been added to the major federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Sandy. The major federal disaster declaration now offers Individual Assistance to residents of Orange, Putnam, Sullivan and Ulster counties.


"I thank President Obama for adding these four counties to the major disaster declaration," Governor Cuomo said. "The destructive effects of Hurricane Sandy are far-reaching and will require the maximum amount of federal assistance so these communities can rebuild and recover."


On October 30, President Obama granted Governor Cuomo's request for a federal disaster declaration for seven counties: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Richmond, Queens and Suffolk. On November 2, Governor Cuomo announced that an additional two counties, Rockland and Westchester, were approved to receive federal disaster assistance as a result of Hurricane Sandy.


Counties eligible for Individual and Public Assistance: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Richmond, Rockland, Queens and Suffolk, Westchester


Counties eligible for just Individual Assistance: Orange, Putnam, Sullivan and Ulster


The federal disaster declaration was approved to enable the federal government to provide assistance and resources to New York State and local governments to support activities related to evacuation, sheltering, and other protective measures, including debris removal, logistics management and electric power generation.


Disaster survivors have three ways to apply:

  • Individuals can call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- and hearing-impaired.
  • If you use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.
  • You can register online at or via web-enabled phone or tablet at


The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT, seven days a week until further notice.