December 20, 2012
Albany, NY

Governor Cuomo Announces Federal Public Assistance Aid Extension for Flood Impacted Counties

Governor Cuomo Announces Federal Public Assistance Aid Extension for Flood Impacted Counties

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that FEMA has approved New Yorks request for an extension for ongoing Public Assistance outreach in counties affected by the late June/early July flooding this summer. In a July 10th letter to President Obama, the Governor requested federal Public Assistance aid for flood affected counties. Following the preliminary damage assessments (PDAs) by FEMA, State and local emergency management personnel working collaboratively in the affected counties, Governor Cuomo presented the President with data that demonstrated that the damage to public infrastructure had exceeded $32.7 million, well above the States $26.7 million per capita threshold.

As our communities in Upstate New York are still recovering following the recent devastating flooding, I am pleased to announce that FEMA has granted our request to extend the application deadline for federal assistance several more weeks. Governor Cuomo said. Local governments are struggling in the wake of massive infrastructure damage, and continue to assess damage to apply for aid. These funds are much-needed assistance for New Yorkers in flood-affected areas as we work to build back stronger and better than before.

FEMA initially granted the Governors request for Public Assistance eligibility for Allegany, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Franklin, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Otsego, and Warren counties on July 12th and later amended the list by adding Broome, Chautauqua, Clinton and Essex counties on July 26th.

Public Assistance is for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. In the letter of approval granting the states extension request, FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer and Disaster Recovery Manager Regis Phelan stated that the approval was provided To ensure the State has the opportunity to contact potential applicants and give them the chance to apply for assistance in their recovery from the storm damages caused by the event.

Private nonprofit agencies providing what are defined as critical services to the community may also request reimbursement of costs incurred for emergency work performed as a result of the storms.

Facilities that provide critical services include:

    Hospitals and other medical-treatment facilities;Fire, police and other emergency services;Power, water and sewer utilities; andEducational institutions.

Private nonprofits that provide what are defined as essential, governmental-type services to the community may also be eligible for PA to fund emergency work. Private nonprofits in this category are first required to apply for a loan from the U.S. Small Business Administration (the RPA can be submitted concurrently or before applying to SBA): If the loan is denied, the PNP may request Public Assistance from FEMA if a request is on file with the state.

Facilities that provide essential services include:

    Libraries, museums and zoos;Community centers;Disability advocacy and service providers;Homeless shelters and rehabilitation facilities; andSenior citizen centers and day-care centers.

To apply, a private nonprofit organization must have a ruling letter from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service or provide other evidence from the state that it is a nonprofit organization doing business under state law.

RPA forms are available at:

Potential local government and other municipal applicants should contact their county emergency manager for additional guidance on submitting Requests for Public Assistance. For more information on eligibility and forms, visit

Private nonprofits should submit completed RPAs to the New York State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services (DHSES) via e-mail to John Grubsick at [email protected], or by fax to 518-322-4984.