November 13, 2014

Governor Cuomo Announces Aid to Help Communities Rebuild Following May 2014 Flooding in Western NY and Finger Lakes Regions

Governor Cuomo Announces Aid to Help Communities Rebuild Following May 2014 Flooding in Western NY and Finger Lakes Regions

State Will Assume Local Portion of FEMA Public Assistance Costs in 11 Counties

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced State assistance for storm recovery efforts to communities in 11 counties that were impacted by the Western New York and Finger Lakes flooding of May 2014. The State will relieve local governments of their entire required share of FEMA Public Assistance Program costs to minimize the financial impact on local taxpayers.

"Local governments throughout these regions were left with significant recovery costs in the aftermath of extreme weather, but today the State is stepping forward to help them build back better than before," Governor Cuomo said. "By alleviating the financial burden imposed by Mother Nature, we're clearing the way for local governments to focus on improving storm resiliency with the next storm in mind. That will mean safer communities in the future, and I am proud that the State is helping to make that happen."

Communities in these regions sustained significant damage from the spring storm. In response, the federal government has committed to funding 75% of eligible recovery and resiliency project costs, while local governments were initially responsible for paying the remaining 25% of costs. To lift the burden of local governments of covering these costs, the State is today assuming the 25% of costs.

This funding is in addition to the assistance today announced by Governor Cuomo to communities impacted by the Upstate flooding of June 26 – July 10, 2013 and Winter Storm Nemo of February 2013.

Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services Commissioner Jerome Hauer said, "The Federal Public Assistance program is essential for municipalities to get back on their feet after a declared disaster. By providing the non-federal cost share, these communities will be better able to continue to provide daily services as they repair their damaged infrastructure."

The FEMA Public Assistance Program provides reimbursement for local government activities such as debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair and rebuilding of publically-owned infrastructure that was damaged including roads, schools bridges, parks, hospitals, police stations, fire houses, water and waste water treatment facilities and other public facilities.

The following counties are eligible for State assistance:

  • Allegany County
  • Cattaraugus County
  • Chautauqua County
  • Delaware County
  • Herkimer County
  • Lewis County
  • Livingston County
  • Ontario County
  • Otsego County
  • Steuben County
  • Yates County

The FEMA funding is administered by the State Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services.

Contact the Governor's Press Office

New York City Press Office:  212.681.4640

Albany Press Office:  518.474.8418