January 19, 2018
Albany, NY

Governor Cuomo Announces Addition of Monroe and Cayuga Counties to Federal Lake Ontario Flooding Disaster Declaration

Governor Cuomo Announces Addition of Monroe and Cayuga Counties to Federal Lake Ontario Flooding Disaster Declaration

Public Assistance Funding Approved by FEMA for Costs Associated with Repairs and Emergency Response Measures to Public Infrastructure, Buildings, and other Municipally Owned Facilities

Governor Cuomo today announced that FEMA has amended the Lake Ontario Disaster Declaration to provide Monroe and Cayuga Counties Public Assistance Grant Funding for repairs and emergency protective measures due to damage that occurred from the historic Lake Ontario Flooding this past year. The Governor's request for a major disaster declaration was approved in November, but did not include Cayuga and Monroe Counties. That decision was appealed by Governor Cuomo on December 15, 2017.

"This year, many communities experienced severe and repetitive flooding along the shores of Lake Ontario due to historically high water levels and New York has been fighting all year to ensure the federal government provide appropriate support to help counties get back on their feet," said Governor Cuomo. "With this amendment, Monroe and Cayuga Counties will not only be able to make critical repairs to facilities and infrastructure, but improve their resiliency as well."

Following the initial exclusion of Monroe and Cayuga Counties from the federal disaster declaration, the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services worked closely with county officials and FEMA to validate additional damages which exceeded each counties threshold required by FEMA. With this approval, Public Assistance will be made available to these counties, their municipalities and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and for the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe flooding.

Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services Commissioner Roger L. Parrino, Sr. said, "I would like to thank FEMA for taking the time to review our appeal and granting our request for Public Assistance for Monroe and Cayuga counties. This is another example of local, federal, and state partners cooperating to ensure out citizens get the assistance they need."

The FEMA Public Assistance Program provides reimbursement for local governments after a disaster has been declared by the President for activities such as debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair and rebuilding of publically-owned infrastructure that was damaged including roads, schools, bridges, parks, hospitals, police stations, fire houses, water and waste water treatment facilities and other public facilities.

The Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services (DHSES) provides leadership, coordination and support for efforts to prevent, protect against, prepare for, respond to, and recover from terrorism and other man-made and natural disasters, and other emergencies. For more information, visit the DHSES Facebook page, follow @NYSDHSES on Twitter, or visit dhses.ny.gov


Traduction française
Tradiksyon kreyòl ayisyen
Перевод на русский язык
Traducción al español

Contact the Governor's Press Office

Contact us by phone:

Albany: (518) 474 - 8418
New York City: (212) 681 - 4640