November 14, 2012
Albany, NY

Governor Announces Four More Counties Affected by Hurricane Sandy Eligible for Federal Public Assistance Aid

TOP Governor Announces Four More Counties Affected...

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that four more counties have now been approved for additional funding under FEMAs Public Assistance Program. Orange, Putnam, Sullivan and Ulster counties are now eligible for this aid.


It has been two weeks since Sandy struck New York State, and we continue to see long-ranging, catastrophic effects of this storm across the lower Hudson Valley, said Governor Cuomo. I thank President Obama and FEMA for expanding federal assistance for these four counties.


On October 30, President Obama granted Governor Cuomos request for a federal disaster declaration for seven counties: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Richmond, Queens and Suffolk. On November 2, Governor Cuomo announced that an additional two counties, Rockland and Westchester, were approved to receive federal disaster assistance as a result of Hurricane Sandy. On November 12, the Governor announced Orange, Putnam, Sullivan and Ulster counties were approved for federal Individual Assistance aid.


Counties now eligible for Individual and Public Assistance: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Orange, Putnam, Richmond, Rockland, Queens, Suffolk, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester.


All 13 counties are eligible for federal reimbursement for emergency actions taken during and immediately after a disaster to protect life and property, debris removal, restoration of disaster damaged infrastructure, road systems, water control facilities, public buildings and equipment, public utilities, and parks and recreation.


FEMAs Public Assistance Program provides grants to State, tribal and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration, and replacement of damaged infrastructure so that communities can quickly respond to and recover from major disasters and emergencies declared by the President.