January 28, 2013
Albany, NY

Joint Statement from Local Leaders Across New York State on Governor Cuomos Tier VI Savings Plan

TOP Joint Statement from Local Leaders Across New...

This year the Governors executive budget builds on the foundation of last years pension reform and state takeover of Medicaid increases, with a budget that reforms workers compensation, binding arbitration and implements many key recommendations from the Mandate Relief Council.


On top of these reforms, which will save us hundreds of millions of dollars, the proposed executive budget gives localities the option to realize new and immediate savings on our pension obligations through a Tier VI savings plan. This plan gives us a common sense choice: establish a stable flat rate for pension payments for the next several years, allowing us to take advantage of Tier VI savings today, instead of having to wait years for them to kick in.


This isnt a one-size fits all top down mandate; its a choice that can help New Yorks Counties save over $1.8 billion and Cities over $630 million over the next five years. Opponents that would deny our counties and cities the right to make this responsible choice would only continue the years of inaction we have seen from the State in the past.


While there is more to be done, this budget proposal continues a real commitment by Albany to deliver real mandate relief to our local governments.


Nassau County County Executive Edward Mangano
Suffolk County Executive, Steve Bellone
Onondaga County Executive Joanie Mahoney
Ulster County Executive, Mike Hein
Albany Mayor Jerry Jennings
Rochester Mayor Thomas Richards
Westchester County Board of Legislators Chairman Kenneth Jenkins
Glens Fall Mayor John Diamond
Niagara Falls Mayor Paul Dyster
Rome Mayor Joe Fusco
Oswego Mayor Thomas Gillen
Oneonta Mayor Richard Miller
Ithaca Mayor Svante Myrick
Utica Mayor Rob Palmieri
Hornell Mayor Shawn Hogan
Canandaigua Mayor Ellen Polimeni
Troy Mayor Lou Rosamilia
Elmira Mayor Susan Skidmore
Jamestown Mayor Samuel Teresi
Olean Mayor Linda Witte
Amsterdam Mayor Ann Thane
Fulton Mayor Ron Woodward
Norwich Mayor Joseph Maiurano
Johnstown Mayor Sarah Slingerland
Herkimer County Board of Legislators Minority Leader John Brezinski
Essex County Board of Supervisor Chairman Randy Douglas
Schenectady County Legislature Chairwoman Judith Dagostino
Franklin County Board of Legislators Chairman D. Billy Jones
Babylon Town Supervisor Rich Schaffer
Town of Cicero Town Supervisor Jim Corl
North Hempstead Town Supervisor Jon Kaiman
Olean Common Council President Ann McLaughlin
Town of DeWitt Town Supervisor Edward Michalenko
Huntington Town Supervisor Frank Petrone
SouthhamptonTown Supervisor Anna Throne-Holst
Plattsburgh Town Supervisor Bernie Bassett
Village of Minoa Mayor Richard Donovan
Village of Cooperstown Mayor Jeff Katz
Patchogue Village Mayor Paul Pontieri